## 2018 IOM Grand Prix Round 2

## Lake Macquarie Radio Yacht Club 21/22 April

Edwards Park on beautiful Lake Macquarie was the location for the 2018 International One Metre Grand Prix hosted by the Lake Macquarie Radio Yacht Club. The event was held on Saturday and Sunday comprising of some excellent sailing skills and tactics.

Arnold Grant, the PRO, set a very nice windward/leeward course with the top mark comprising a clearance buoy and the bottom mark being a gate allowing sailors to split strategies.

Weather for the Saturday event comprised of a healthy southerly breeze tending to south east as the day progressed. A rigs where the suit of choice as the trees and jetty offered some protection. One race was completed on the southern side of the jetty, but then moved to the northern side after a slight direction change in the breeze. There it stayed for the two days.

Sunday offered a slightly stronger breeze starting from the south and tending south east. A rigs were chosen by all but one.

Both days offered different sailing conditions even though the breeze was very similar in direction. Saturday, the trees on the point provided a wind shadow at the lee mark. Sunday offered a chance for those to take the water route to the top mark rather than the shore route. This proving successful by up to a four to five boat lengths for the punters.

One fleet of 14 entrants constituted the field and a total of 34 races were completed over the two days.



Paul Jones, Lindsay Walker and Ben Taylor filled the first 3 positions respectively. Paul was in a class of his own on Saturday as Lindsay was the only serious challenger for the majority of the day and doing it with great sportsmanship. It might be fair to say Paul won the regatta on Saturday and consolidated his results by sailing with a margin of safety especially at the starting line on Sunday. Saturday, he was usually closest to the starboard starting boy giving the K2 the upper hand for the starboard beat to the top mark.

Sundays slightly fresher breeze appeared to suit the Vickers design slightly better as Paul's usual winning margin was reduced with some hard earned race wins going to others. Sunday produced the better days sailing as the race for third position tightened between Ben Taylor and Mark Wilson.

With every regatta, it could be someone's first as it was for David Brunston who received some good results as he gained experience.

Lake Macquarie Radio Yacht Club wishes to thank participants who travelled long distances, we would also like to offer great appreciation to Anne Walker who, as usual, did an excellent job of scoring this event. Thanks also to volunteers for making this event a pleasure to attend.













## NSW IOM GP RD 2

21st 22nd APRIL 2018

Hosted by LAKE MACQUARIE RADIO YACHT CLUB

Position	Skipper	Sail #	Club/City	Hull	Score	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	10	11	12	13	14	15	16	17	18	19	20	21	22	23	24
14			14	14	0 14	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15
1	Paul Jones	48	NSW LMRYC	K2	33.0	2.0	1.0	15.0	1.0	1.0	1.0	1.0	1.0	15.0	1.0	1.0	1.0	1.0	1.0	1.0	1.0	1.0	1.0	1.0	1.0	1.0	1.0	7.0	1.0
2	Lindsay Walker	02	NSW KBRYC	V10	68.7	1.0	2.0	4.0	2.0	2.0	2.0	2.0	3.0	1.0	6.0	5.0	2.0	2.0	2.0	4.0	6.0	3.0	2.0	2.0	2.0	5.0	2.0	1.0	2.0
3	Ben Taylor	70	NSW LMRYC	V10	126.0	7.0	11.0	2.0	3.0	3.0	5.0	7.0	4.0	4.0	3.0	6.0	4.0	3.0	6.0	5.0	4.0	7.0	7.0	7.0	5.0	2.0	3.0	4.0	9.0
4	Mark Wilson	66	NSW LMRYC	V9	138.0	5.0	5.0	1.0	4.0	4.0	6.0	6.0	15.0	2.0	2.0	2.0	3.0	5.0	7.0	3.0	3.0	2.0	3.0	9.0	8.0	6.0	6.0	9.0	5.0
5	Wayne Keavy	11	NSW KBRYC	V10	169.0	15.0	9.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	8.0	3.0	4.0	4.0	6.0	6.0	5.0	8.0	5.0	6.0	5.0	10.0	6.0	4.0	5.0	3.0	3.0
6	Phil Page	50	NSWNM	V8	175.0	4.0	3.0	3.0	5.0	8.0	8.0	5.0	9.0	9.0	5.0	8.0	5.0	8.0	8.0	15.0	2.0	15.0	8.0	5.0	9.0	11.0	10.0	2.0	4.0
7	Graham Payn	89	NSW LMRYC	V8	182.0	8.0	4.0	8.0	8.0	5.0	11.0	8.0	7.0	5.0	11.0	3.0	13.0	10.0	4.0	7.0	10.0	8.0	15.0	3.0	3.0	3.0	7.0	10.0	6.0
8	Allen Roberts	44	NSW KBRYC	Britpop	185.0	6.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	10.0	3.0	3.0	2.0	6.0	8.0	7.0	8.0	9.0	3.0	2.0	8.0	4.0	6.0	8.0	4.0	9.0	8.0	11.0	10.0
9	Ross Spencer	13	NSW KBRYC	V9	189.0	3.0	8.0	6.0	9.0	6.0	4.0	4.0	5.0	11.0	7.0	15.0	12.0	7.0	11.0	15.0	7.0	5.0	4.0	11.0	11.0	10.0	9.0	8.0	7.0
10	Andrew Payne	88	NSW WMYC	Cheinz	208.0	10.0	7.0	7.0	6.0	9.0	7.0	9.0	6.0	7.0	9.0	9.0	7.0	4.0	9.0	6.0	9.0	10.0	9.0	6.0	14.0	7.0	11.0	5.0	11.0
11	Bob Tonge	36	NSWNM	Kantun SMX	262.0	9.0	6.0	5.0	7.0	7.0	9.0	10.0	10.0	10.0	12.0	10.0	9.0	15.0	12.0	10.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	4.0	12.0	12.0	4.0	6.0	8.0
12	Andrew Holly	59	NSWNM	Fog	339.0	15.0	10.0	9.0	15.0	11.0	10.0	11.0	11.0	8.0	10.0	11.0	11.0	11.0	10.0	9.0	11.0	9.0	10.0	12.0	10.0	8.0	12.0	15.0	15.0
13	David Brunsdon	65	NSW LMRYC	Devo	360.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	13.0	15.0	10.0	12.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	13.0	7.0	13.0	13.0	13.0	15.0
14	Andy Sands	43	NSWNM	Southern Cross 2	366.0	11.0	12.0	10.0	10.0	12.0	12.0	12.0	15.0	15.0	14.0	12.0	14.0	15.0	13.0	11.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	14.0	13.0	15.0	14.0	12.0	12.0

HMS 2016 Scoring v3a - October 2016 - Promote = 4

24-04-18

Mike Kemp/John Walter/Henry Farley/Herman van Beek

## NSW IOM GP RD 2

21st 22nd APRIL 2018 Hosted by LAKE MACQUARIE RADIO YACHT CLUB

Position	Skipper	Sail #	Club/City	Hull		Score	25	26	27	28	29	30	31	32	33	34
14			14	14	0	14	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15
1	Paul Jones	48	NSW LMRYC	K2		33.0	2.0	2.0	1.0	1.0	3.0	2.0	1.0	3.0	1.0	1.0
2	Lindsay Walker	02	NSW KBRYC	V10		68.7	1.0	1.0	4.0	7.0	4.0	1.0	2.0	2.7	5.0	7.0
3	Ben Taylor	70	NSW LMRYC	V10		126.0	3.0	6.0	3.0	8.0	2.0	4.0	8.0	1.0	9.0	6.0
4	Mark Wilson	66	NSW LMRYC	V9		138.0	6.0	10.0	10.0	4.0	10.0	10.0	3.0	5.0	11.0	4.0
5	Wayne Keavy	11	NSW KBRYC	V10		169.0	4.0	4.0	2.0	10.0	7.0	3.0	7.0	9.0	6.0	2.0
6	Phil Page	50	NSWNM	V8		175.0	5.0	5.0	6.0	9.0	8.0	5.0	4.0	7.0	15.0	8.0
7	Graham Payn	89	NSW LMRYC	V8		182.0	9.0	11.0	5.0	2.0	1.0	9.0	15.0	15.0	4.0	3.0
8	Allen Roberts	44	NSW KBRYC	Britpop		185.0	10.0	7.0	8.0	5.0	5.0	6.0	5.0	8.0	7.0	11.0
9	Ross Spencer	13	NSW KBRYC	V9		189.0	7.0	3.0	7.0	6.0	6.0	7.0	9.0	6.0	2.0	5.0
10	Andrew Payne	88	NSW WMYC	Cheinz		208.0	8.0	8.0	11.0	3.0	11.0	12.0	6.0	2.0	3.0	9.0
11	Bob Tonge	36	NSWNM	Kantun SMX		262.0	12.0	9.0	9.0	11.0	12.0	11.0	10.0	10.0	8.0	10.0
12	Andrew Holly	59	NSWNM	Fog		339.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0
13	David Brunsdon	65	NSW LMRYC	Devo		360.0	11.0	12.0	12.0	12.0	9.0	8.0	11.0	4.0	10.0	12.0
14	Andy Sands	43	NSWNM	Southern Cross 2		366.0	13.0	13.0	13.0	13.0	15.0	13.0	12.0	11.0	12.0	13.0