The 2016 Ian Hayden 10 Rater Trophy

Hosted by Kogarah Bay Radio Yacht Club

The Ian Hayden 10R Trophy is the first round of the 2016 10R GP Series. Fourteen skippers arrived bright and early on Saturday 23rd January to race in the third annual regatta in honour of the late Ian Hayden. The fleet was made up of skippers from NSW and four who made the trip from Canberra.

A southerly breeze strong enough for C rig and D rig blew all day. A falling tide against the wind resulted in plenty of waves to make sailing even trickier. Unfortunately because of the strong wind some damage to boats occurred during the day and others had to miss a number of races because they did not have rigs small enough. To top it off a light shower of rain moved through about 11.00am. The racing though, was fast and exciting.

A windward and return course was set using a gate at the bottom.

PRO Scott Backhouse and his able assistant Ted Gay started the racing just after 10am and kept things moving to finish the day with seventeen races. Scott Condie with his Trance dominated the racing all day winning all but five of the races. Scott was kept on his toes by the other skippers, especially Steve Sedgmen and Phil Page so even though Scott dominated he had plenty of competition.

Our pecial guests the Hayden Family proudly presented the medals and perpetual trophy. There was lan's wife Barbara, son Brett, daughter Kimberly and her partner Chris and their three boys Jack, Liam and Harry. On Saturday night lan's wife Barbara sent the following message to all the competitors.

"Thanks to you all at the Club for dedicating this special Regatta to lan. We were all very honoured to be there and to present the awards to all of the winners. Congratulations, too, to those who didn't receive a winning prize. The trophy was well won, again, by Scott....but I am sure everyone who competed did so in the spirit of the day. How lan would have loved to have been there, sailing his favourite boat, and he would have been a fierce competitor I am sure!

Thank you, once again, for inviting us to be there to represent him"

Position	Skipper	Sail #	Club/City	Hull	MYA No.	Score	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	10	11	12	13	14	15	16	17
Sort 14	Sort	Sort	Sort 14	Sor 14	Sort 0	14	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15	15
1	Scott Condie	6	KBRYC	Trance		17.0	1.0	2.0	1.0	1.0	1.0	1.0	2.0	1.0	4.0	2.0	1.0	1.0	2.0	1.0	5.0	1.0	1.0
2	Steve Sedgmen	30	CMYC	Aero 3		43.0	15.0	4.0	3.0	2.0	4.0	3.0	5.0	4.0	4.0	1.0	2.0	15.0	4.0	4.0	1.0	4.0	3.0
3	Phil Page	50	NM	Diamond		46.0	15.0	1.0	15.0	6.0	6.0	6.0	1.0	2.0	5.0	3.0	3.0	2.0	15.0	3.0	4.0	2.0	2.0
4	Owen Jarvis	82	KBRYC	Diamond		53.3	3.0	10.0	2.0	4.0	9.0	2.0	4.0	3.0	3.0	5.0	15.0	6.0	3.0	5.3	2.0	5.0	6.0
5	Mark Newman	58	CMYC	Diamond		77.0	2.0	7.0	4.0	5.0	5.0	9.0	7.0	5.0	2.0	7.0	4.0	4.0	1.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0
6	Selwyn Holland	98	WMYC	Aero 3		85.0	7.0	5.0	8.0	7.0	10.0	8.0	8.0	9.0	9.0	15.0	5.0	3.0	15.0	6.0	3.0	3.0	4.0
7	Allen Roberts	69	KBRYC	Phoenix 3		93.0	4.0	6.0	5.0	8.0	11.0	10.0	10.0	12.0	15.0	6.0	15.0	5.0	5.0	5.0	7.0	6.0	5.0
8	Lynn kreibig	56	CMYC	Diamond		101.0	15.0	3.0	6.0	15.0	2.0	5.0	9.0	6.0	1.0	9.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	2.0	6.0	15.0	7.0
9	Frank Russell	15	NM	Phoenix 6		117.0	5.0	8.0	7.0	3.0	3.0	11.0	3.0	7.0	6.0	4.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0
10	Wayne Keavy	182	KBRYC	Phoenix 5.1		168.0	6.0	9.0	10.0	9.0	15.0	12.0	6.0	11.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0
11	Phil Lawson	22	FTRYC	Diamond		171.0	8.0	13.0	9.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	7.0	8.0	6.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0
12	Peter Burton	2	KBRYC	Aero 3		177.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	7.0	4.0	15.0	8.0	8.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0
13	Alan Griffith	68	FTRYC	Aero 2		189.0	15.0	12.0	11.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	11.0	10.0	10.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0
14	Joe Roos	65	CMYC	Aero 2		191.0	15.0	11.0	15.0	15.0	8.0	7.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0	15.0

1st, 2nd and 3r^d will all have their names engraved on the trophy.

The 2016 10 Rater Interclub Round 1

On Sunday the 24th January the 1st round of the 2016 10R Interclub was run in much lighter conditions. The interclub is a handicap event and eleven skippers turned up to represent their respective clubs. There was a light and steady southerly breeze which blew all day and even though the tide was falling the waves were small. All skippers used A rig all day.

Wayne Keavy was the PRO for the day and got racing underway about 10.15 using a two triangle course. Joe Roos from Canberra was the standout winning three races in a row and several 2nds and 3rds. He finished 10 points ahead of second place and was a popular winner. Only ten points separated second to eighth places so the results were close indeed. Seventeen races were completed.

Thanks to our volunteer race officials from KBRYC for running the event. They were Scott Backhouse, Ted Gay, Wayne Keavy, Terry McLeod and Rob Fielding. Excellent job gentlemen!

Thanks also to John Lewis from KBSC for providing delicious lunches on both days.

Position	Skipper	Sail #	Club/City	Hull	MYA No.	Score	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	10	11	12	13	14	15	16	17
Sort 11	Sort	Sort	Sort 11	Sor	Sort 0	11	12	12	12	12	12	12	12	12	12	12	12	12	12	12	12	12	12
1	Joe Roos	65	CMYC			51.0	5.0	12.0	11.0	12.0	1.0	1.0	1.0	7.0	9.0	2.0	5.0	4.0	5.0	3.0	3.0	3.0	2.0
2	Pete Burton	2	KBRYC			61.0	1.0	8.0	6.0	5.0	6.0	2.0	3.0	9.0	4.0	4.0	8.0	8.0	1.0	4.0	12.0	1.0	8.0
3	Matt McAnna	64	KBRYC			62.0	12.0	1.0	4.0	8.0	4.0	4.0	2.0	2.0	6.0	6.0	7.0	10.0	9.0	5.0	1.0	6.0	6.0
4	Scott Condie	6	KBRYC			64.0	8.0	3.0	8.0	3.0	8.0	5.0	4.0	3.0	7.0	3.0	2.0	3.0	8.0	8.0	6.0	2.0	7.0
5	Steve Sedgmen	30	CMYC			67.0	6.0	4.0	1.0	4.0	7.0	3.0	7.0	5.0	10.0	1.0	12.0	5.0	2.0	9.0	9.0	9.0	4.0
6	Owen Jarvis	82	KBRYC			68.0	3.0	7.0	3.0	6.0	3.0	6.0	8.0	1.0	8.0	7.0	6.0	9.0	3.0	2.0	8.0	8.0	5.0
7	Lynn Kreibig	56	CMYC			70.0	2.0	5.0	5.0	12.0	2.0	9.0	5.0	8.0	12.0	9.0	1.0	6.0	6.0	1.0	7.0	4.0	12.0
8	Allen Roberts	69	KBRYC			71.0	9.0	6.0	7.0	1.0	11.0	8.0	9.0	6.0	5.0	5.0	3.0	2.0	7.0	6.0	5.0	12.0	1.0
9	Phil Page	50	NM			79.0	7.0	12.0	10.0	2.0	9.0	11.0	6.0	10.0	3.0	10.0	4.0	1.0	10.0	7.0	2.0	5.0	3.0
10	Andy Sands	43	NM			79.0	4.0	2.0	2.0	12.0	5.0	7.0	11.0	4.0	1.0	8.0	9.0	7.0	4.0	11.0	4.0	12.0	12.0
11	Pat O'Donnell	67	DSC			126.0	10.0	9.0	9.0	7.0	10.0	10.0	10.0	11.0	2.0	11.0	10.0	11.0	11.0	10.0	10.0	7.0	12.0

The iinterclub Rankings after Round 1 are;

1st KBRYC 9 Points

2ND CMYC 13 Points

3RD NM 31 Points

4TH DSC-RYD 35 Points

The next round will be hosted by Forster Tuncurry RYC on the 12th and 13th March.