NSW Radio Yachting Association (NSWRYA) 2nd 2015 Soling Inter-Club Regatta

REPORT and RESULTS

On Sunday 12th April 11 intrepid Radio Sailors, including 4 well respected stalwarts who travelled from Sydney despite the problematic weather forecast, to compete in the second NSWRYA Inter-Club Regatta conducted by Basin Radio Yacht Club (BRYC) on St. Georges Basin.

The members of BRYC sincerely thank those visiting Skippers who greatly enhanced the close competitive races which were conducted, once again in trying conditions with South West to South breezes varying from initially perfect to drifter and then gradually increasing to the maximum possible for Soling 1m yachts accompanied with, as is usual on the Basin, swells increasing to the equivalent to 4-5 metres.

Racing commenced at 10am in a light shower of rain which followed an earlier down-pour. Four scratch races were completed prior to the luncheon break.

Anthony Blackmore (BRYC) won the series, scoring 5 points, with 3 first places and 1 second place BRYC President Fred Elphinstone was second with 7 points and Kevin Wingate (BRYC) was third with 21 points.

Following a light lunch which included chocolate mud cake with cream and orange slice provided by Mrs.Valerie Grant-Mitchell which was very much appreciated.

Three Handicap Races only were completed in the afternoon series before it necessary to call a halt for the day, conditions having resulted in rig damage to two boats.

Greg Henery, who hails from Pennant Hills and is a member of both SMMC and BRYC, won the Handicap Series with 8 points. Colin Ferguson from SMMC was second with 10 points and Ron Elphinstone (BRYC) was third,

The over-all winner of the day was Tony Blackmore, on a count back from Fred Elphinstone each scoring 29 points.

Scratch Series Results:				Handicap Series:		
Result Boat No. Skipper			Points	Boat No.	Skipper	Points
1st	201	Anthony Blackmore	5	142	Greg Henery	8
2^{nd}	152	Fred Elphinstone	7	92	Colin Ferguson	10
3^{rd}	199	Kevin Wingate	21	153	Ron Elphinstone	12
4^{th}	133	Tom Phillips	22	133	Tom Phillips	14
5^{th}	196	John O'Sullivan	24	145	Vance G/Mitchell	19
6^{th}	153	Ron Elphinstone	25	196	John O'Sullivan	20 C/B
7^{th}	36	Leigh Grove	27	36	Leigh Phillips	20
8^{th}	92	Colin Ferguson	28	152	Fred Elphinstone	22
9^{th}	171	Don Peters	33	201	Tony Blackmore	24
10^{th}	145	Vance Grant-Mitchell	35	199	Kevin Wingate	27
11^{th}	203	Greg Henery	37	171	Don Peters	30

Below is a selection of photos of the worthy trophy winners.











