

2015 NSW IOM GP Round 1

The Susan McAnna Memorial Trophy

Series Sponsored by BG Sails and Design

On the weekend of the 28th and 29th of March 2015 the first round of the NSW IOM GP series was run at Kogarah Bay SC. The GP round at Kogarah Bay has been dedicated to the memory of Susan McAnna who was a much valued Kogarah Bay RYC member and a member of the NSWRYA Management Committee, first as Secretary/Treasurer, then as Publicity Officer. Susan's considerable contribution to radio yachting will always be remembered by those who knew her.

Twenty one skippers turned up to contest the event. Four from Lake Macquarie RYC, eight from Kogarah Bay RYC, two from Koonawarra Bay SC, two from Sydney Maritime MC and one each from the Northern Mariners, Wollongong MYC, Pittwater MYC, Canberra MYC and Craig Smith from Melbourne.

On Saturday morning the breeze was almost non-existent when KBRYC President Scott Condie welcomed everyone and introduced PRO for Saturday Maurice Fletcher. However the breeze soon filled in from the south and racing got under way in two fleets just a little late. The course set was a triangle and windward return. It was a long course but there is plenty of water on Kogarah Bay so why not use it?

One of the early pace setters was Lindsay Walker. He and his lovely wife Anne left for the day after three races to attend a friend's wedding. They returned on Sunday but unfortunately for Lindsay it cost him a chance of a top placing. The breeze strengthened to about 6 or 7 knots during the morning and swung to the SE where it stayed for the rest of the day. Just perfect conditions!

At the end of racing on Saturday and with eight races completed the top three were Owen Jarvis on 10 points, Paul Jones on 13 points and Scott Condie on 17 points. Greg Torpy and Ross Spencer were equal fourth on 33 points and another five skippers were within 10 points. Craig Smith was in sixth place. Several skippers including Matt McAnna and Mark Newman were getting their money's worth by bouncing up and down between fleets.

On Sunday PRO Phil Page got racing under way in a light and fluky breeze from the NNW. A two lap windward and return course with a gate at the bottom was used for most of the day. There were a few hard luck stories during the morning when skippers were sometimes able to pass other boats right on the finish line to make the racing fun for those doing the passing and frustrating for those being passed. The breeze strengthened and swung to the NNE in the middle of the day and for the last race swung almost ninety degrees to the east. Scott Condie was kept busy changing the course to suit the swinging breeze.



KBRYC President with PROs Fletch and Phil. Note the 2.4Ghz antennas Scott has had inserted directly into his brain so he can sail his boat hands free.

At the end of the day after 14 races Paul Jones showed his skill and experience and passed Owen Jarvis to win the regatta. Craig Smith had a much better day to finish third.

The Susan McAnna Memorial Trophy is presented to the best placed NSW skipper who has not won it before. This year it was presented to Greg Torpy who was pleased and honoured to have his name added to the trophy.



Greg Torpy is presented the Susan McAnna Memorial Trophy by Owen Jarvis.

The regatta was completed without any agro and all skippers behaved in a sportsman like manner, just as Susan would have liked. Well done everyone.

Of course these events are run by volunteers who give up their time so the competitors can enjoy the racing. Many thanks to the two PROs from the Northern Mariners, Fletch and Phil, Anne Walker for doing her usual perfect job of scoring and fleet management, and the other helpers Rob Fielding, Lynn Kreibig, Scott Condie, Ted Gay and Matthew McAnna. Thanks also to John Lewis from KBSC who supplied the delicious lunches on both days.

The next round is hosted by LMRYC on the 18th and 19th April.



Fletch wishes winner Paul Jones would hurry up and end his speech so he can finish his beer in peace.



OJ seems very happy with his second place



3rd placed Craig Smith with Fletch and Phil.

Position	Skipper	Sail #	Club/City	Hull	Frequency	Score	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	10	11	12	13	14
Sort 21	Sort	Sort	Sort 21	Sor 21	Sort 21	21	12	22	22	22	22	22	22	22	22	22	22	22	22	22
1	Paul Jones	14	LMRYC	Mojo	40.665	33.0	2.0	6.0	3.0	3.0	1.0	3.0	2.0	2.0	3.0	4.0	3.0	5.0	3.0	4.0
2	Owen Jarvis	82	KBRYC	Britpop!	2.4 GHz	41.0	7.0	2.0	1.0	1.0	3.0	2.0	1.0	6.0	2.0	10.0	13.0	11.0	4.0	2.0
3	Craig Smith	47	APMYC Vic	Chase	36.19	45.0	1.0	9.0	5.0	9.0	9.0	7.0	11.0	3.0	1.0	3.0	2.0	3.0	1.0	1.0
4	Scott Condie	6	KBRYC	Britpop!	2.4 GHz	47.0	2.0	5.0	2.0	6.0	2.0	5.0	5.0	1.0	4.0	6.0	9.0	1.0	8.0	10.0
5	Greg Torpy	77	LMRYC	Mojo	2.4 GHz	58.5	8.0	1.0	6.0	4.0	5.0	13.0	9.0	12.0	5.0	2.0	1.0	4.0	6.5	7.0
6	Ross Spencer	13	KBRYC	V9	2.4 GHz	81.0	5.0	13.0	4.0	2.0	8.0	9.0	7.0	7.0	11.0	8.0	4.0	7.0	9.0	18.0
7	Frank Russell	114	NM	Mx14	2.4 GHz	84.0	6.0	7.0	8.0	12.0	4.0	4.0	6.0	8.0	6.0	7.0	6.0	10.0	15.0	13.0
8	Graham Payn	89	LMRYC	V8	2.4 GHz	87.5	8.0	15.0	11.0	15.0	6.0	1.0	10.0	16.0	7.5	5.0	8.0	2.0	5.0	9.0
9	Wayne Keavy	61	KBRYC	V8	2.4 GHz	88.5	4.0	4.0	10.0	13.0	14.0	8.0	12.0	5.0	7.5	1.0	7.0	12.0	22.0	5.0
10	Allen Roberts	16	KBRYC	Britpop!	2.4 GHz	101.0	5.0	17.0	15.0	5.0	10.0	6.0	8.0	4.0	12.0	14.0	10.0	14.0	10.0	3.0
11	Mark Newman	81	CMYC ACT	Britpop!	2.4 GHz	119.0	7.0	8.0	7.0	7.0	11.0	13.0	13.0	15.0	9.0	11.0	12.0	9.0	12.0	13.0
12	Laurie Hinchcliff	75	KOBSC	Panko	2.4 GHz	124.0	3.0	11.0	14.0	8.0	7.0	10.0	4.0	11.0	14.0	17.0	15.0	15.0	13.0	14.0
13	Lindsay Walker	32	KBRYC	Chase	2.4 GHz	129.0	1.0	3.0	14.0	22.0	22.0	22.0	22.0	22.0	17.0	9.0	5.0	6.0	2.0	6.0
14	Pat Halloran	52	KBRYC	Fraktal	2.4 GHz	129.5	4.0	12.0	18.0	10.0	20.0	16.0	3.0	10.0	15.0	13.0	11.0	16.0	6.5	13.0
15	Matthew Mcanna	64	KBRYC	Widget	2.4 GHz	139.0	9.0	14.0	17.0	11.0	12.0	17.0	14.0	13.0	10.0	15.0	14.0	8.0	11.0	8.0
16	Leigh Cooper	83	PMYC	V8	2.4 GHz	173.0	10.0	16.0	14.0	17.0	16.0	14.0	16.0	14.0	13.0	12.0	22.0	17.0	14.0	22.0
17	Andrew Payne	188	WMYC	Cheinz	2.4 GHz	185.0	9.0	19.0	19.0	14.0	13.0	18.0	17.0	17.0	18.0	16.0	18.0	13.0	17.0	15.0
18	Garry Bromley	37	KOBSC	Col Dar	2.4 GHz	188.0	3.0	10.0	9.0	22.0	17.0	15.0	15.0	9.0	22.0	22.0	22.0	22.0	22.0	22.0
19	Ted Gay	36	KBRYC	Widget	2.4 GHz	205.0	11.0	18.0	21.0	16.0	18.0	19.0	19.0	19.0	16.0	18.0	17.0	19.0	18.0	16.0
20	Stephen Smith	91	LMRYC	Pikanto	2.4 GHz	215.0	10.0	20.0	20.0	22.0	19.0	20.0	20.0	22.0	20.0	19.0	16.0	18.0	16.0	17.0
21	Peter Burton	69	SMMC	Xtreme	2.4 GHz	216.0	6.0	22.0	16.0	22.0	15.0	11.0	18.0	18.0	22.0	22.0	22.0	22.0	22.0	22.0