## The 2015 10R GP Round 1,

Hosted by Kogarah Bay Radio Yacht Club.

Saturday 21<sup>st</sup> : "The Ian Hayden 10 Rater Trophy" Sunday 22<sup>nd</sup> : 10R Interclub Rd 1



## Saturday



PRO Ted Gay got the ceding races underway just after 10am and kept things moving all day to finish with ten races completed.(20 heats) Marilyn Russell did her usual excellent job taking down the results and doing the scoring, and Rob Fielding drove the rescue boat. Ted asked skippers from the fleet not sailing to be observers, a system that worked really well.

21<sup>st</sup> February to race in the second annual regatta in honour of the late Ian Hayden. A light to moderate SE breeze blew all day gradually strengthening to about 8 knots by lunchtime, perfect for 10 Raters with Number 1 rig. Apart from a shower of rain that moved through about 11.45 the conditions were excellent and not too hot. A windward and return course was set using a gate at the bottom. The moon was having large effects on the water level with a rising tide before lunch and a falling tide after lunch. More about this later.

Nineteen skippers arrived bright and early on Saturday





Later in the afternoon the tide was dropping fast and this is where Rob earned his money, or would have if he was actually paid. Many skippers trying to get that little edge came too close to shore and ended running aground. Some not content with doing it once, tried it a second or even a third time and Rob rescued them each time. It all added to the fun, unless of course your boat was the one on the beach and then it wasn't any fun at all.



Marilyn, who keeps a close eye on how everyone is going said that the final placing's were not settled until the last race, so it was very close and exciting.

A big thank you to Barbara Hayden and Brett Hayden who proudly presented the medals and trophy, it was great to see them again for such a memorable event in Ian's memory.

1<sup>st</sup>, 2<sup>nd</sup> and 3<sup>rd</sup> will all have their names engraved on the trophy.



1<sup>st</sup> Scott Condie (centre)

2<sup>nd</sup> Phil Page (LHS)

3<sup>rd</sup> Owen Jarvis (RHS)

Special guests: Barbara and Brett Hayden

The 10R is the one lan was so proud of and now lives in OJ's loft.



Position	Skipper	Sail #	State - Club	Design	Freq.	Score	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	10
Sort 19	Sort	Sort	Sort 19	Sor 19	Sort	19	11	20	20	20	20	20	20	20	20	20
1	Scott Condie	6	NSW-KBRYC	Trance		16.0	9.0	1.0	2.0	6.0	1.0	1.0	2.0	2.0	1.0	7.0
2	Phil Page	50	NSW-NM	Diamond		19.0	1.0	2.0	4.0	4.0	9.0	2.0	12.0	1.0	3.0	2.0
3	Owen Jarvis	82	NSW-KBRYC	Diamond		22.0	5.0	6.0	6.0	1.0	2.0	4.0	1.0	7.0	2.0	1.0
4	Garry Bromley	90	NSW-KOBSC	Diamond		35.0	3.0	7.0	1.0	9.0	4.0	6.0	6.0	3.0	5.0	11.0
5	Frank Russell	15	NSW-NM	Phoenix 6		39.0	2.0	4.0	3.0	2.0	7.0	10.0	5.0	6.0	10.0	12.0
6	Matthew McAnna	64	NSW-KBRYC	Phoenix 3		42.0	1.0	5.0	8.0	3.0	3.0	9.0	15.0	9.0	7.0	6.0
7	Mark Newman	58	NSW-CMYC	Diamond		52.0	2.0	3.0	11.0	11.0	13.0	18.0	3.0	11.0	8.0	3.0
8	Allen Roberts	69	NSW-KBRYC	Phoenix 3		54.0	4.0	10.0	18.0	5.0	11.0	11.0	12.0	5.0	4.0	4.0
9	Selwyn Holland	98	NSW-WMYC	Aero 3		60.0	6.0	12.0	5.0	7.0	10.0	13.0	7.0	8.0	17.0	5.0
10	Peter Burton	2	NSW-KBRYC	Aero 3		62.0	5.0	13.0	13.0	20.0	6.0	3.0	4.0	10.0	15.0	8.0
11	Maurice Fletcher	18	NSW-NM	NRW10b		68.0	8.0	8.0	12.0	8.0	5.0	5.0	10.0	17.0	12.0	19.0
12	Phil Lawson	22	NSW-FTRYC	Diamond		76.0	6.0	20.0	9.0	14.0	15.0	15.0	13.0	4.0	6.0	9.0
13	Colin Andrews	34	NSW-LMRYC	Gothix		81.0	8.0	14.0	14.0	10.0	8.0	7.0	9.0	15.0	11.0	15.0
14	Joe Roos	65	NSW-CMYC	Aero 2		86.0	9.0	16.0	7.0	12.0	14.0	8.0	14.0	12.0	18.0	10.0
15	Alan Griffiths	68	NSW-FTRYC	Aero 2		92.0	3.0	9.0	10.0	13.0	18.0	16.0	20.0	20.0	9.0	14.0
16	Laurie Hinchcliff	0	NSW-KOBSC	Aero 3		101.0	4.0	11.0	17.0	18.0	17.0	14.0	8.0	14.0	16.0	17.0
17	Ralph Hyman	156	NSW-KOBSC	Aero1		101.0	7.0	15.0	15.0	17.0	13.0	12.0	16.0	13.0	13.0	13.0
18	Mark Luland	96	NSW-NM	Cole		121.0	10.0	17.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	17.0	17.0	16.0	14.0	16.0
19	Andrew Sands	43	NSW-NM	Black Sparrow		139.0	7.0	18.0	19.0	15.0	20.0	20.0	20.0	20.0	20.0	20.0

## Sunday



Eighteen skippers arrived to race in the interclub on Sunday the 22<sup>nd</sup> February. This is a handicap event. Conditions were hot and humid early in the morning but an easterly breeze arrived by race time. The course consisted of two triangles and a windward return with the finish off the wind. The low tide was an hour later than the day before so a repeat of the beached boats didn't happen. PRO Neil Webb got racing underway right on time and kept things moving all day so 16 races were completed in one fleet. The breeze strengthened during the day and some skippers went down to B rig after lunch. As you can see from the results below the racing was close and everyone had fun, which is what it's all about after all.





Hey Scott, why won't it go??

(Editor's choice)

Thanks to the helpers that assisted Neil, Marilyn (of course) Ted Gay, Rob Fielding, Malcolm Cody and Terry McLeod. Thanks to John Lewis from KBSC for providing excellent lunches on both days.



Position	Skipper	Sail #	State - Club	Design	Freq.	Score	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	10	11	12	13	14	15	16
Sort 18	Sort	Sort	Sort 18	Sor 18	Sort	18	19	19	19	19	19	19	19	19	19	19	19	19	19	19	19	19
1	Selwyn Holland	98	NSW-WMYC	Aero 3		54.0	1.0	1.0	11.0	13.0	1.0	9.0	7.0	9.0	5.0	6.0	4.0	3.0	3.0	3.0	8.0	3.0
2	Allen Roberts	61	NSW-KBRYC	Phoenix 3		59.0	7.0	3.0	7.0	4.0	7.0	4.0	4.0	5.0	1.0	7.0	3.0	12.0	10.0	6.0	1.0	8.0
3	Scott Condie	6	NSW-KBRYC	Trance		64.0	5.0	13.0	6.0	8.0	10.0	2.0	6.0	6.0	2.0	2.0	10.0	13.0	2.0	7.0	7.0	1.0
4	Laurie Hinchcliff	0	NSW-KOBSC	Aero 3		66.0	2.0	10.0	3.0	12.0	4.0	5.0	2.0	7.0	8.0	18.0	12.0	2.0	4.0	4.0	9.0	6.0
5	Matthew McAnna	64	NSW-KBRYC	Phoenix 3		70.0	4.0	8.0	16.0	6.0	9.0	1.0	9.0	3.0	11.0	5.0	9.0	7.0	1.0	11.0	4.0	4.0
6	Owen Jarvis	82	NSW-KBRYC	Diamond		72.0	3.0	2.0	15.0	2.0	8.0	8.0	12.0	4.0	12.0	1.0	2.0	10.0	9.0	15.0	6.0	5.0
7	Joe Roos	65	NSW-CMYC	Aero 2		82.0	15.0	7.0	1.0	11.0	6.0	7.0	10.0	8.0	7.0	4.0	1.0	8.0	6.0	8.0	10.0	9.0
8	Phil Lawson	22	NSW-FTRYC	Diamond		90.0	9.0	12.0	2.0	9.0	15.0	6.0	1.0	15.0	10.0	9.0	14.0	6.0	8.0	2.0	2.0	15.0
9	Garry Bromley	90	NSW-KOBSC	Diamond		100.0	10.0	9.0	9.0	7.0	2.0	12.0	8.0	12.0	9.0	8.0	5.0	4.0	5.0	15.0	15.0	15.0
10	Mark Newman	58	NSW-CMYC	Diamond		105.0	16.0	5.0	8.0	3.0	11.0	13.0	15.0	19.0	18.0	12.0	11.0	1.0	12.0	9.0	3.0	2.0
11	Frank Russell	15	NSW-NM	Phoenix 6		107.0	14.0	11.0	14.0	19.0	19.0	19.0	14.0	2.0	4.0	10.0	13.0	5.0	7.0	1.0	5.0	7.0
12	Alan Griffiths	68	NSW-FTRYC	Aero 2		116.0	8.0	4.0	19.0	1.0	12.0	14.0	16.0	13.0	3.0	13.0	8.0	9.0	11.0	5.0	15.0	15.0
13	Ralph Hyman	156	NSW-KOBSC	Aero1		130.0	11.0	19.0	12.0	19.0	3.0	11.0	3.0	11.0	13.0	3.0	7.0	11.0	16.0	15.0	15.0	15.0
14	Andrew Sands	43	NSW-NM	Black Sparrow		156.0	12.0	6.0	5.0	14.0	19.0	19.0	13.0	14.0	18.0	18.0	6.0	17.0	16.0	10.0	15.0	10.0
15	Maurice Fletcher	18	NSW-NM	NRW10b		169.8	13.0	15.0	17.0	10.0	13.8	19.0	5.0	10.0	6.0	11.0	17.0	17.0	16.0	19.0	19.0	19.0
16	Patrick O'Donnell	138	NSW-DSC	Wide Load		177.0	19.0	16.0	13.0	5.0	13.0	10.0	11.0	1.0	18.0	18.0	17.0	17.0	19.0	19.0	19.0	19.0
17	Phil Page	50	NSW-NM	Diamond		193.0	6.0	19.0	10.0	19.0	5.0	3.0	19.0	19.0	18.0	18.0	19.0	19.0	19.0	19.0	19.0	19.0
18	Mark Luland	96	NSW-NM	Cole		210.0	17.0	14.0	4.0	4.0	19.0	19.0	19.0	19.0	19.0	19.0	19.0	19.0	19.0	19.0	19.0	19.0





- 1<sup>st</sup> Selwyn Holland (R middle)
- 2<sup>nd</sup> Allen Roberts (RHS)
- 3<sup>rd</sup> Scott Condie (L middle)
- PRO: Neil Webb (LHS)

## The interclub Rankings are;

- 1<sup>st</sup> KBRYC 10 Points
- 2<sup>ND</sup> KoBSC 26 Points
- 3<sup>RD</sup> CMYC 36 Points
- Equal 4<sup>TH</sup> WMYC and FTRYC on 39 Points
- 6<sup>TH</sup> NM 40 Points
- 7<sup>TH</sup> DSC-RYD 54 Points

The next round will be hosted by Forster Tuncurry RYC on the 14<sup>th</sup> and 15<sup>th</sup> March. See you there.

Report: Owen Jarvis Results: Marilyn Russell Images: Selwyn Holland

