International One Metre

Grand Prix Round 4

The IOM Grand Prix series under the auspices of NSWRYA continued with Round 4 on 24 August, sponsored by Sydney Maritime Modellers Club at Norwest Lake. Robert Hales was Principal Race Officer. The weather was notable in that it was the only day in a couple of weeks in Sydney with NO RAIN.

The day started with light breezes from the west. Because of the light weather, it was decided that races should be run as a single fleet, initially of 15. Two more skippers joined in after Race 3 but since the breeze was still light, a single fleet format was continued. Local knowledge seemed to be beneficial, with SMMC sailors winning the first two races, but the visitors soon got on top of the conditions. Sailing was very close in most races, and spectacular when the whole fleet was coming downwind together. During the afternoon the breeze shifted to the east and the course was changed to consist of two windward return circuits. Floating reeds gave some skippers trouble, despite the PRO's dinghy excursions to clear them from the course. At the end of the day, with twelve races sailed, six different skippers had wins to their names.

Consistency is a great thing in sailing, and the name of consistency is Paul Jones of LMRYC, who had only a 5th and a 6th to drop, and was the clear winner on the day. Paul was sailing his Red Wine and proved that this older design was still highly competitive in the right conditions with the right skipper. Second was Scott Backhouse from KBRYC, and third Peter Burton from SMMC.

SMMC thanks our visitors for their participation and good sportsmanship, and all who helped in large or small ways on the day.

Dinah Hales
IOM coordinator,
SMMC

Position	Skipper	Sail #	Club/City	Score	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	10	11	12
1	Paul Jones	108	LMRYC	29.0	6.0	5.0	5.0	3.0	1.0	4.0	5.0	2.0	2.0	1.0	1.0	5.0
2	Scott Backhouse	99	KBRYC	41.0	7.0	6.0	1.0	16.0	9.0	5.0	1.0	7.0	9.0	2.0	2.0	1.0
3	Peter Burton	180	SMMC	48.0	2.0	11.0	2.0	1.0	2.0	10.0	2.0	15.0	16.0	4.0	11.0	3.0
4	Frank Russell	114	NM	52.0	3.0	2.0	7.0	8.0	10.0	8.0	3.0	8.0	4.0	13.0	5.0	4.0
5	Leigh Cooper	183	PMYC	59.0	9.0	1.0	13.0	17.0	12.0	2.0	11.0	4.0	1.0	3.0	7.0	9.0
6	Colin Court	80	SMMC	61.0	11.0	13.0	4.0	10.0	8.0	6.0	10.0	5.0	3.0	5.0	3.0	7.0
7	John Armstrong	68	SMMC	63.0	1.0	3.0	10.0	4.0	7.0	1.0	12.0	10.0	13.0	6.0	9.0	12.0
8	Gary Bromley	03	KoBSC	72.0	8.0	9.0	15.0	13.0	4.0	12.0	6.0	3.0	5.0	9.0	6.0	10.0
9	Ross Spencer	39	KBRYC	72.0	5.0	4.0	9.0	7.0	13.0	9.0	4.0	6.0	8.0	7.0	18.0	18.0
10	Neil Webb	05	KBRYC	78.0	10.0	12.0	8.0	2.0	6.0	3.0	13.0	9.0	10.0	12.0	13.0	6.0
11	Allen Roberts	16	KBRYC	85.0	4.0	15.0	6.0	12.0	3.0	13.0	15.0	1.0	14.0	15.0	4.0	13.0
12	Rob Fielding	79	SMMC	98.0	12.0	8.0	3.0	5.0	14.0	11.0	9.0	16.0	11.0	11.0	14.0	14.0
13	Pat Halloran	52	SMMC	106.0	14.0	10.0	11.0	14.0	11.0	16.0	14.0	12.0	6.0	14.0	12.0	2.0
14	John Haines	83	KBRYC	109.0	13.0	7.0	12.0	11.0	15.0	14.0	17.0	14.0	7.0	10.0	10.0	11.0
15	Matt McAnna	64	KBRYC	122.0	18.0	18.0	18.0	15.0	17.0	15.0	8.0	13.0	12.0	8.0	8.0	8.0
16	Owen Jarvis	82	KBRYC	126.0	18.0	18.0	18.0	6.0	5.0	7.0	7.0	11.0	18.0	18.0	18.0	18.0
17	Allan Griffith	85	FTRYC	151.0	15.0	14.0	14.0	9.0	16.0	17.0	16.0	17.0	15.0	18.0	18.0	18.0