The 2014 NSW EC12 State Championship Hosted by Kogarah Bay Radio Yacht Club

On Saturday 13th September nine skippers turned up to contest for the top honours in EC12 racing in NSW. There was Neil Webb and Allen Roberts from the host club, Kevin Humphrey from Brisbane Water Radio Yacht Squadron, Colin Durran (the NSW EC12 class coordinator) from the National Capital RYC and the rest from the East Coast Sailing Association.

We were greeted with a light shower of rain which soon cleared before PRO Malcolm Cody got racing underway shortly after 10am. Conditions were very light and variable but after a couple of slow races the breeze started to fill in from the SE. The breeze gradually swung around to the east necessitating a couple of course changes. The breeze finally settled in the ENE where it remained for the afternoon at a nice steady 5 to 6 knots. Fifteen races were completed.

Allen Roberts revelled in the lighter conditions but as the breeze strengthened he did not have it all his own way. Gary Beaton, Glynn Pulling, Colin Durran and Leigh Grove all had wins to keep the pressure on, but Allen prevailed to defend the title he won last year at Koonawarra Bay Sailing Club. Well done to all the skippers who raced cleanly and in the right spirit. Everyone had a great time.

These regattas don't happen by themselves so a big thanks to PRO Malcolm Cody, Scott Condie who set the courses, Ted Gay for recording the results and Owen Jarvis for doing the scoring.

Position	Skipper	Sail #	Club/City	Hull	Freq	Score	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	10	11	12	13	14	15
Sort	Sort	Sort	Sort 9	Sor 9	Sort	9	10	10	10	10	10	10	10	10	10	10	10	10	10	10	10
1	Allen Roberts	81	KBRYC	Sorenson		21.0	1.0	5.0	1.0	1.0	1.0	1.0	4.0	1.0	2.0	4.0	1.0	3.0	2.0	2.0	1.0
2	Leigh Grove	31	ECSA	Mini Mariner		34.0	3.0	2.0	5.0	6.0	6.0	2.0	2.0	6.0	1.0	3.0	2.0	2.0	1.0	1.0	4.0
3	Glynn Pulling	46	ECSA	Mini Mariner		43.0	5.0	4.0	3.0	3.0	4.0	3.0	1.0	5.0	3.0	5.0	3.0	1.0	3.0	5.0	5.0
4	Colin Durran	11	NCRYC	ACT Boats		47.0	2.0	6.0	2.0	2.0	3.0	9.0	3.0	3.0	4.0	1.0	7.0	10.0	10.0	3.0	2.0
5	Gary Beaton	89	ECSA	Mini Mariner		52.0	7.0	1.0	7.0	7.0	2.0	6.0	6.0	2.0	5.0	2.0	6.0	4.0	4.0	4.0	3.0
6	Neil Webb	99	KBRYC	Mini Mariner		63.0	4.0	3.0	8.0	4.0	5.0	5.0	5.0	4.0	6.0	6.0	5.0	5.0	5.0	6.0	6.0
7	Robert Westaway	217	ECSA	Mini Mariner		91.0	6.0	8.0	4.0	9.0	8.0	8.0	8.0	8.0	8.0	7.0	8.0	6.0	6.0	7.0	7.0
8	Kevin Humphrey	39	BWRYS	Lakesedge		94.0	9.0	7.0	6.0	8.0	9.0	7.0	7.0	10.0	7.0	10.0	4.0	7.0	7.0	8.0	8.0
9	Michael Hein	140	ECSA	Mini Mariner		106.0	8.0	9.0	10.0	5.0	7.0	4.0	10.0	7.0	9.0	10.0	9.0	8.0	10.0	10.0	10.0